I Hate the phrase “Stop and Smell a Rose…” But I do appreciate its meaning.

Something that I’ve figured out over the last year is that to expect everyday, or the majority of your days to be ‘good days,’ can be somewhat unrealistic. That’s not to says that you shouldn’t wake up everyday with the purpose to have a great day and to make great things happen, or to be productive…because you should! In fact I think you must, but the reality for most of us is that most days are going to feel very similar to the one before it…you’ll do the same things, see the same people, think the same thoughts. And for some of us, who sadly are predisposed to feel the awful effects of depression or anxiety, these repetitive days are likely to sway towards ‘bad days’ rather the ‘good days.’

 

I’ve learnt that when a good day actually ‘just happens’ to you, REVEL IN IT!! appreciate every moment of it. Write about it with such description that when you re-read it, it will bring you straight back to the way you felt then. Its a powerful tool when you’re feeling down, when you get stuck in your head and forget all of the wonderful people who love you and wonderful things you get to do and be a part of…you’ll go back and see it, you’ll feel it. Because believe me, the days aren’t all bad and you are so so so loved. It is a good life despite all of the bad.

 

(this post was sitting in my drafts from 8 months ago…it seems I was right and little did I know how soon the very bad days would begin to hit. I probably didn’t post it because it felt unfinished at the time. I dont care anymore.)

 

Leave a comment